UNITED NEWS INTERNATIONAL (UNI) — Facebook is letting its users know whether their data was compromised in the Cambridge Analytica scandal.
Starting April 9, all Facebook users will see a link at the top of their newsfeeds that says “protecting your information.”
The link will take users to a list of all of the apps and websites they’ve used Facebook to log into. They can opt to remove any entries they no longer want to be connected to their Facebook account.
In addition, Facebook users who may have been affected by the Cambridge Analytica scandal will receive messages alerting them to the potential breach of their personal data.
Facebook announced last week that information on 87 million people may have improperly been shared with the U.K.-based data firm.
Cambridge Analytica — which has ties to Donald Trump’s presidential campaign — allegedly used Facebook data without users’ permission in order to power software that targets voters.